Summery Seasonal Potato Salad with Cashew Mayo


I know I haven’t posted in a while, but picking up my awesome CSA share of veggies yesterday gave me the kick in the butt I needed to get out of my rut of eating sandwiches all week and make something different. I just started getting my shares and you never know exactly what veggies you’re gonna get that week, so it’s a fun surprise when it’s something you’ve never cooked with before. I’ve never used dill, and all I can ever remember having it in is potato salad, so this is my attempt at a vegan version. I had no vegenaise in the house but I found an old bag of raw cashews so I made do with that for the mayo. And perfect for 4th of July picnics! I’m gonna take this to the park and have lunch tomorrow. Here it is!

For the cashew mayo 

  • 1/2 cup cashews, soaked for 1 hour
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • crushed red pepper
  • salt
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions
  • pinch paprika

Put all the ingredients except oil in a processor and pulse until it starts to form a thick paste. Add the oil gradually and process until it has a creamy mayo texture. Makes about 1/2 cup.

The rest

  • 3 medium sized yukon potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 head of broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 small red onion, finely diced
  • 1/3 cup fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • any kind of lettuce
  • 3 tbsp dijon musturd
  • celery salt, to taste
  • black pepper,  to taste
  • paprika,  to taste

Boil potatoes in salted pot of water for about 15 min until tender. Steam broccoli florets about 10 minutes, until tender but still crunchy. Mix all other ingredients and cashew mayo together in a mixing bowl and toss. Serve over bed of lettuce with some chopped tomatoes. garnish with some leftover dill.

Makes about 6-7 servings (maybe less, I’m a small girl and I’m always surprised at how much boys eat!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ivan Roldan
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 11:19:25

    Ha, considering it’s only 3 potatoes, I’d say you’ve made 3-4 “Boy” portions or even just one since potato salad is one of those foods I like to just stuff in my face till I burst. 🙂 But seriously, what I find most curious is how you just “found” some raw cashews & made a mayo from them – as if mayo can be made from whatever is laying around. I have an old jar of nuts & bolts in the garage – if I take out the bolts, can I make mayo from the remaining nuts? Jk. What else can you make mayo from?

    I happened to access your blog through my iPad and was surprised to find the site is optimized for iPad which looks great and gives intuitive, easy access to all your posts. The only thing it doesn’t do is allow me to make a comment for which I had to go to the regular site but even that was easy.

    I love your pic except that all the tomatoes make it look like tomato salad. Nevertheless, it looks & sounds delicious.

    Reply

    • poorvegan
      Jul 05, 2011 @ 17:29:59

      Cashews are super creamy so they’re a good substitute for dairy stuff. I’ve made cashew cheese and cashew frosting before, so I figured with mayo just to add oil and spices! We also serve vegan cashew ice cream at the cafe I work at and it’s awesome!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

