Sweet Potato & Sausage Quesadillas


I haven’t had a quesadilla in a loooooong time. I’m not the biggest fan of vegan cheeses, but in keeping with my recent mexican theme, and because I love food that is wrapped in something, I decided I’d give it a shot. The sweet potato added to the creaminess that might be missing in a cheeseless version, and to the overall orangeness of the dish. I used some leftover tempeh sausage crumbles from my last post, which made them nice and herbalicious.

  • tempeh sausage crumbles
  • 1 small orange sweet pepper, sliced
  • 1 small yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 small sweet potato, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup portobello mushrooms, chopped
  • vegan cheddar cheese cut into thing slices (I used the Follow Your Heart brand)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 tsp siracha chili paste (optional)
  • whole wheat tortillas
  • earth balance vegan butter

-cook sweet potatos in a pan with olive oil on low heat, covered, turning over halfway through until they’re browned on both sides.

-while the sweet potato is cooking, caramelize the onions  over med-low heat, covered, until they start to brown, stirring occasionally (about 5-7 minutes). Add white wine to deglaze the pan and cook 3 more minutes. Add peppers, mushrooms and chili paste and cook another 3-5 minutes.

-Cut a tortilla into half circles and fill with the layers of cheese, veggies, and sweet potato. Grease a pan with some butter and grill the quesadilla over medium heat for a few minutes on each side until the cheese starts to melt and the tortilla gets browned and crispy. Don’t put the heat too high because vegan cheese takes a while to melt so you have to cook it slower.

They came out so orange and pretty that I almost didn’t want to eat them!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ivan
    May 12, 2011 @ 19:19:01

    Herbalicious – I love it!

    Reply

  2. Deb
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:27:19

    I was unaware that tempeh crumbles were available. This looks very yummy!

    Reply

  3. poorvegan
    May 13, 2011 @ 15:08:05

    I don’t know if you can buy tempeh in crumble form but I just used a regular block of it and when you boil it it gets soft so you can crumble it up

    Reply

Leave a Reply

