Sausage and Black Bean Breakfast Burritos


Burritos for breakfast! What can be more fun than that? These came out so good that my boyfriend and I ate them for every meal for the next 2 days. We decided to do the salty-sweet thing with some grilled pineapple (he insisted that I give him credit for that! I was a bit on the fence about it but I decided it’s awesome!)

I used my black bean recipe and a recipe for tempeh sausage crumbles from the Post Punk Kitchen. I’m not one of those vegans who tries to mimic meat very much but the combination of the spices here is really great (I skipped the sage though)

Here’s what you need:

  • Black beans and some tempeh scramble (see above)
  • a cup of pineapple, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 pint of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 cloves crushed garlic
  • 1 cup sliced white button mushrooms
  • 1/2 lb spinach
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • whole wheat tortillas
In a pan, add the oil and sautee the spinach, garlic and mushrooms with

some salt and pepper and lemon juice over medium heat until everything is cooked down. In a separate pan, add the pineapple chunks until they’re lightly browned (they cook really fast!)

Wrap up in some tortillas and los burritos estan listos!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Paul
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:35:19

    Oh man, these burritos are so good! I could eat them everyday. Thanks, PoorVegan!

    Reply

Leave a comment