Hummus Arepas


I’ve been thinking about making arepas for a while. One of my fave restaurants in New York is Caracas Arepa bar, and every time I go there, I think, “This can’t be so hard to make!” And living in Bushwick, there’s no lack of corn flour in the bodegas around here. So I bought a bag and decided to finally give it a go. Despite a couple speed bumps along the way, they’re pretty simple to make and turned out better than expected for my first try. And so cheap! A 4.5 pound bag of masa corn flour only costs $2.99. I used good old hummus for the filling, my go-to staple food whenever I’m running low on funds and need something nutritious and filling for the week. To top it off I added some spinach and tomatoes from my favorite veggie market in the neighborhood, Angel’s Fruit Market on Knickerbocker and Willoughby. They have the best and cheapest produce I’ve found so far. So overall, pretty cheap meal!

For the hummus:

  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas (I used dry beans, soaked overnight and boiled for about 30min)
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 3 cloves crushed garlic
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup warm water (or cooking water from chickpeas if you still have it lying around)

Process everything up and set aside.

For the arepas, I used this recipe for the dough and used this corn masa mix.

What I found was that I should have flattened the balls out more than the recipe called for because I had to cook them in the oven for twice as long and then eventually I realized they weren’t cooking on the inside and had to cut them in half and leave them in the oven another 15 minutes.

Finally, spread some hummus on each side of the arepa, add some fresh spinach and sliced tomoatoes, and eat like a sandwich.

In the end they turned out delicious. I’m even thinking of having a plain one tomorrow with some vegan butter for breakfast!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ivan
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 02:52:44

    This sounds delicious! I find it interesting, though, that this recipe calls for cooking arepas in the oven. Coming from a Colombian background where arepas are “THE” staple food – I’ve always considered them a stove top food. Cooked over a “parilla” or grill specially made for holding them just above the burner.

    After reading the recipe on the provided link, I noticed it called for yellow corn meal as opposed to, what looks to me, like the white you used for yours. I’ve made plenty of the Colombian variety arepas but never Venezuelan so I’m wondering if the slow cooking process was due to the difference in corn meal.

    Food for thought.

    Reply

    • poorvegan
      Apr 06, 2011 @ 19:27:18

      Thanks! Yeah, next time I’m gonna try with yellow corn. These came out more tortilla-like, I guess, but still really good! I made them again the other night and tried cooking them on the George Foreman grill, but found that they just cook faster in a pan, bypassing the oven all together.

      Reply

  2. Deb
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 16:22:42

    Arepas are so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

