Potato Pancakes


I looooove brunch food! Waking up late on a Sunday and having a big leisurely brunch is like heaven for me. I always make pancakes with fruit in them, but savory pancakes are a whole new realm that I hadn’t explored. And since I recently rediscovered how good hash browns are, these seemed like an awesome idea. And they came out great for my first try! This recipe made enough for 4 medium-sized pancakes.

  • 1 small russet potato, peeled and grated
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 4-5 tbsp of all purpose self-raising flour (unbleached)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened soy milk
  • pinch of paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • earth balance vegan butter for frying

Mix everything together, adding more or less milk and flour toget the right consistency. You should be able to form a patty that will stick together in the pan (I did a little “test” pancake first to see if I needed more flour and ended up adding a little more so that they wouldn’t fall apart).

Coat the pan with a layer of butter and cook the patties on med-low heat until golden brown on both sides.

 

 

I garnished them with some guacamole, cilantro, and black olives. Yum!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 21:48:43

    Yum! This is one vegan recipe my Jewish grandmother would love! They look like latkes!

    Reply

  2. Tia Diane
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 18:51:22

    Hi Tashi…this one looks real good. I like the sweet and salty mix!!!

    Reply

  3. Momma Deb
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 17:24:26

    These sound delicious!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

