Cilantro Pesto


At the vegetable market in my neighborhood, the bunches of cilantro are huge! So I’ll buy it for a simple salsa or to use as a garnish in a recipe, then I find myself rushing to use all of it before it goes bad. Problem solved: pesto! This was my first time making pesto without basil, and it turned out really good. I was kind of hesitant at first because I’m one of those people who thinks cilantro tastes a little like soap and can only take it in small doses. But this did not have that effect at all. It think it’s because the nutritional yeast gives it that nutty flavor and balances it out perfectly.

  • 2 cups loosely packed cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno pepper chopped
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tsp water
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yest
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • juice of half a lemon
  • sea salt and black pepper to taste

Process it all up! I left it a little chunky but you can blend it for longer if you want it to be smoother.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. franny
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 20:53:15

    mmmmmmm this was yummy! and i usually hate cilantro! i will definitely make this again soon!

    Reply

  2. mezzamela
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 20:25:35

    Your blog is really nice!
    I will try one of your recipes sooner or later, I swear!
    Marianna
    http://www.mezzamela.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. robinkatherine
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 19:19:25

    I’m a cilantro=soapy person too, but like you I’ve come to love it in small doses! This sounds really yummy, it’d be great in a grilled sandwich, mmm!

    Reply

  4. Momma
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 21:22:29

    Okay I just made thie and it is amazing with blue corn chips.. I think I will also pour it over other foods. Delicious !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

