Schwarzwald Cake Memories: Vegan life in the Black Forest


This month is the 2 year anniversary since the first time I made a vegan Black Forest cake, back when I was living in Mulhouse, France just across the border from the mythical Schwarzwald region, right next door to Hansel and Gretel. Me and my best buddies there made this cake for our friend’s birthday (sans boozy Kirsch, though, since we were totally poor at the time, although this wouldn’t pass in Germany, where it’s a mandatory ingredient!) and it was such a blast and turned out so yummy that I’ve been itching to make it again. I credit this recipe to veghealthyrecipe. It’s super simple, even for a dum dum baker like me, and low in sugar. The molasses give it a smokey taste which I like, but maple syrup can also be used as a substitute.

I miss my Sunday veggie brunches and baking days with my France buddies, so this one’s for you guys!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. An Unrefined Vegan
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:17:36

    Oh…this goes on the “to do” baking list.

    Reply

  2. Paul
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:25:57

    This is delicious, especially with a little scoop of coconut milk ice cream on the side!

    Reply

  3. luminousvegans
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:50:06

    Holy decadence!

    Reply

  4. Franny
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 18:19:13

    This looks amaaaazing! I miss you ma petite dragon x

    Reply

  5. S.
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 03:45:37

    This is great. I love finding new inspiring vegan blogs on wordpress because here in Holland the whole vegan scene is still very small. This looks amazing! If you like to, check out my starting vegan/fashion/photography blog as well http://fashionfoodfight.wordpress.com/ :) Have a great day today! XO

    Reply

  6. Rachel in Veganland
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 10:11:50

    Die Torte ist sehr shön! Gorgeous cake that really makes me feel I need a chocolate fix sooner rather than later!

    Reply

  7. Jane
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 12:43:51

    Little dragon this brought back such good memories. Aah, birthday noms. Miss your vegancakes, and your face. x

    Reply

  8. Arthur Greiffenberg
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 09:19:33

    Gosh I miss this cake… please send me a piece oh please please please… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

